Thursday, April 5, 2018

Eatwell Guide: How to eat a healthy balanced diet


The Eatwell Guide outlines the recommendations for eating a healthy balanced diet.

The guide shows the different types of foods and drinks you should consume – and in what proportions – every day or over a week.

The 5 main groups

The Eatwell Guide divides the foods and drinks we consume into 5 main groups:
  • fruit and vegetables
  • potatoes, bread, rice, pasta and other starchy carbohydrates
  • beans, pulses, fish, eggs, meat and other proteins
  • dairy and alternatives
  • oils and spreads

You should try to choose a variety of foods from each group to help you get the nutrients you need to stay healthy.

Who should follow these recommendations?

These recommendations apply to most people regardless of their:
  • weight
  • dietary restrictions or preferences
  • ethnic origin

If you've special dietary or medical needs, ask a registered dietitian or nutritionist about the best way to adapt this guide to your needs.

Babies and young children

Children between the ages of 2 and 5 should gradually move towards eating the same foods in the same proportions recommended by the guide.

Children under 2 have different nutritional needs and so these recommendations don't apply.

Using the Eatwell Guide

You can use this guide to help you make healthier choices when:
  • planning what to eat
  • cooking or preparing a meal at home
  • food shopping
  • eating out or on the go
Most of the meals we eat are a combination of food groups. When planning meals, work out the main ingredients and think about how these fit within the 5 main food groups.

No comments:

Post a Comment

About Med Fitness Blog

A Daily Blog for Latest Reviews on Fitness | Medicine | Nutrition | Public Health & Prevention | Weight Loss | Celebrity Tips| Many more....

Med Fitness Blog

Med Fitness Blog